The Lodge at Ashford Castle was originally built in 1865 for the Estate Manager of Ashford Castle Estate which was the home of the Guinness family until the early 1900's and enjoys its own unique history and heritage in addition to the fascinating history of the Castle and Estate.
The warm welcome and hospitality associated with the Lodge can be traced way back to the late 1800's and 1900's where fishermen, huntsmen and nature walkers to name a few were received at the Lodge. This continued throughout the late 1900's with the then General Manager at Ashford Castle offering hospitality and hosting many welcome events for guests on the Estate.
Today, the original lodge contains the hotel's Quay Bar, Wilde's at the Lodge Restaurant and Piano Gallery room and is linked through a courtyard to the hotels' 24 Deluxe bedrooms and 26 suites.
To quote Stephen Phillips Ulysses, the Lodge is "Mellow, like a good wine"